跳到内容

什么是圣殿?

为什么后期圣徒要建造圣殿

耶稣基督后期圣徒教会自 1830 年代以来一直在建造圣殿。后期圣徒圣殿被认为是神的屋宇,是一个与世俗之事隔离的圣洁与平安之地。 它们为教会成员提供一个可以向神作出正式的承诺的地方;也是一个进行信仰至高圣礼的地方——夫妻婚姻和永恒家庭印证。 

详细了解原因 后期圣徒建造圣殿:

里面发生了什么

点击这里了解更多关于寺庙内发生的事情 不要错过探索 华盛顿特区寺庙游客中心。

家庭可以是永恒的

耶稣基督后期圣徒教会的成员相信每个出生在地球上的人的灵体从一开始就在天堂与神同住。 我们来到地球上经历尘世考验。通过遵循在这世上的福音原则,我们可以再次回到神的身边,与家人永远住在一起。

后期圣徒的这种,过了今生家庭关系仍然持续的观点,在基督徒信仰中是独一无二的。婚姻必须在圣殿中举行才能超越尘世地持续下去。结婚后加入教会的夫妻也可以以相似的仪式进行婚姻印证,他们的孩子也可以跟他们印证在一起。所以,后期圣徒(有时被称为“摩尔门” )圣殿不是一个通常做周日或会众礼拜。 一位丈夫和一位妻子必须彼此忠诚互爱,在生活中不断地行走在基督徒服务和遵守承诺的道路上。

基督教信仰

我们是耶稣基督后期圣徒教会或简称后期圣徒教会的成员。我们是你的邻居、朋友和家人——众信徒在耶稣基督的帮助下每天努力变得更好。

效果图

2020 年 2 月 27 日,耶稣基督后期圣徒教会发布了以下效果图,显示了圣殿的完工计划。 点击这里 查看完整的室内效果图画廊。

华盛顿特区圣殿的历史

在马里兰州肯辛顿,华盛顿特区圣殿矗立在宁静山顶上一块57.4 英亩的土地上,为首都环城公路沿线的游客创造了一个令人印象深刻的景象。 这是耶稣基督后期圣徒教会的第16座圣殿,为哥伦比亚特区、弗吉尼亚州、宾夕法尼亚州、马里兰州、特拉华州、西弗吉尼亚州和新泽西州的教会成员提供服务。

华盛顿特区圣殿是在美国东海岸建造的第一座后期圣徒圣殿。圣殿于 1974 年落成时,为居住在密西西比河以东的所有后期圣徒以及南美洲和加拿大的一些后期圣徒服务。圣殿的占地面积为16万平方英尺,是世界第三大圣殿,内部包含了恩道门室和印证室,即执行婚礼的地方。

后期圣徒建筑师Harold K. Beecher、Henry P. Fetzer、Fred L. Markham 和 Keith W. Wilcox 在合作过程中设计了华盛顿特区圣殿。每个人都提供了供评审的设计,经由教会总会会长团核准。通过这个过程,最终显现出来的设计代表着每个建筑师的最佳想法。这座圣殿被建筑师描述为一座“美丽、意义非凡、与众不同”的建筑,成细长的钻石形状,角上有塔楼。
华盛顿特区圣殿的原始印证室
在圣殿的东侧,中央塔楼高达288英尺,使其成为世界上所有后期圣徒圣殿中最高的尖塔。 东边和西边的三个尖塔代表着教会领导的两个分支,即亚伦圣职和麦基洗德圣职。 这六尖塔设计与盐湖圣殿的设计相呼应。 Award Fairbanks所创作的18英尺高高的天使摩罗乃雕像为最高的尖塔锦上添花。 这座雕像是由青铜铸造,覆盖着金箔,是第三个被放置在圣殿上的雕像。 Fairbanks描绘了天使摩罗乃把喇叭举到唇边,左臂领着金页片。后期圣徒雕塑家Franz Johansen创作了16枚铜圆牌——其中8枚被装饰在城门上,另外8枚被装饰在圣殿的门上——描绘了太阳、月亮和星星等设计。
华盛顿特区圣殿原始的高荣室
这座圣殿是用17万三千平方英尺的阿拉巴马州白色大理石所建,在某些地方被切割成 ⅝ 英寸的厚度,让阳光柔和地透过墙壁。多面窗的彩色玻璃提起了圣殿的东端和西端。这些七英尺宽的面板以红色和橘色的色调往上逐渐软化成蓝色和紫色,最终至顶部时变成白色。其中一位建筑师注意到颜色变化的象征意义——纯洁是随着对天堂事物的渴望而来。 在圣殿的室内陈设中可以看到类似逐渐变白和金色的色调转化。该圣殿于1968年11月15日被宣布了将近6年后,已准备好被奉献。从1974年9月17日起至10月19日,该圣殿向公众开放,超过75万名游客参观了这座建筑,知名游客包括Betty Ford、Gerald Ford的妻子,也都在这些参观了圣殿内部的人群中。该圣殿在1974年11月19日至22日间举行了十个阶段的奉献礼。 教会总会会长Spencer W. Kimball做了奉献祈祷,当中感谢了那些为美国建国铺路的人:“很感激您确实让定居,让建立了一个伟大国家的人重新发现这块土地,在这里定居,拥有受启发的宪法保障自由,这样您爱子的教会和福音才能光荣地复兴。2
华盛顿特区圣殿的尖塔

2018 年 3 月 3 日,华盛顿特区圣殿关闭进行大规模整修。这座建筑的机械系统得到了相当大的升级,装修和家具也得到了更新。还对景观进行了更改,并对外部进行了一些小改动,以封闭新的电梯系统和楼梯。

该项目于 2020 年完成,由于 COVID-19,开放日推迟到 2022 年。

毗邻圣殿的华盛顿特区圣殿游客中心为游客提供了更多了解圣殿和教会教义的机会。 

1 在“To Build a Temple”中,Ensign,1974 年 8 月,16。

2 “Kimball会长奉献圣殿”,Ensign,1975 年 2 月,第 81 页。

速览

宣布: 1968 年 11 月 15 日

奉献: 1974 年 11 月 19 日至 22 日,时任教会总会会长
Spencer W. Kimball

建筑面积: 16万平方英尺

高度: 288 英尺(世上最高的
后期圣徒圣殿)

地产规模: 52 英亩

关闭装修:
2018 年 3 月 3 日

承包商: 奥克兰建设

建筑师: CRSA

重新开放: 2022 年 8 月 14 日

图片来源:斯科特·范特

地址

华盛顿特区圣殿耶稣基督后期圣徒教会
9900 Stoneybrook Drive
马里兰州肯辛顿

What is a Temple?

Why Latter-day Saints Build Temples

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has been building temples since the 1830s. Latter-day Saint temples are considered houses of God, a place of holiness and peace separate from the preoccupations of the world. They provide a place where Church members make formal promises and commitments to God. They are also the place where the highest sacraments of the faith occur — the marriage of couples and the “sealing” of families for eternity. 

Learn more about why Latter-day Saints build temples:

Families Can Be Forever

Members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints believe that each human born on earth lived first as a spirit in heaven with God, our Heavenly Father. Each one of us comes to earth to be tested through the mortal experience. By following the principles of the gospel here on earth, each of us may return to the presence of God, where we will live eternally with our families.

The Latter-day Saint teaching that family relationships on earth continue after death is distinctive among Christian faiths. To last beyond mortality, marriages must take place in a temple. Couples who join the Church after they are already married may also have their marriages “sealed” in identical ceremonies, and their children may be sealed to them. Thus, Latter-day Saint (sometimes called “Mormon”) temples are not places of regular Sunday or congregational worship. They are built specifically for these “eternal marriages” and other individual and family-centered ceremonies. For the promises of the temple to remain in effect, a husband and wife must love and be faithful to each other throughout their marriage and continue to follow a course of Christian service and commitment throughout their lives.

Christian Beliefs

We’re members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, or Latter-day Saints for short. We’re your neighbors, friends, and family members—a community of believers trying to be a little better each day with Jesus Christ’s help.

Renderings

On February 27, 2020, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints released the following renderings that show the planned completion of the temple. Click here to view the full gallery of interior renderings.

History of the D.C. Temple

On a serene 57.4-acre hilltop in Kensington, Maryland, the Washington D.C. Temple creates an impressive sight for travelers along the Capital Beltway. The 16th operating temple of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints serves Church members in the District of Columbia, Virginia, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, and New Jersey.

The Washington D.C. Temple was the first Latter-day Saint temple to be built on the East Coast of the United States. When the temple was completed in 1974, it served all Latter-day Saints living east of the Mississippi and some Latter-day Saints in South America and Canada. At 160,000 square feet, it is the third-largest temple in the world. It contains instruction rooms and sealing rooms, where marriages are performed.

Latter-day Saint architects Harold K. Beecher, Henry P. Fetzer, Fred L. Markham, and Keith W. Wilcox designed the Washington D.C. Temple in a collaborative process. Each offered designs for review and critique, which were approved by the Church’s First Presidency. Through this process, the final design emerged representing the best ideas of each architect. This temple, which the architects described as a building of “beauty, significance, and distinction,” took shape as an elongated diamond with towers on the corners.
Original sealing room in the Washington D.C. Temple
On the east side of the temple, the central tower reaches a height of 288 feet, making it the tallest spire on a Latter-day Saint temple anywhere in the world. The three spires on the east and the three on the west represent two branches of Church leadership, the Aaronic and Melchizedek Priesthoods. The six-spire design echoes the design of the Salt Lake Temple. An 18-foot-tall sculpture of angel Moroni created by Avard Fairbanks graces the tallest spire. The statue, cast in bronze and covered in gold leaf, was the third to be placed on a temple. Fairbanks portrayed the angel Moroni lifting a trumpet to his lips and holding golden plates in his left arm. Latter-day Saint sculptor Franz Johansen created 16 bronze medallions — eight of which decorate the temple gates and eight of which decorate the temple doors — illustrating the sun, moon, and stars, among other designs.
Original celestial room in the Washington D.C. Temple
The temple is finished with 173,000 square feet of Alabama white marble, which is cut to a thickness of ⅝” in some places, allowing sunlight to filter softly through the walls. Faceted windows of colored glass ascend the east and west ends of the temple. These seven-foot-wide panels rise in red and orange hues, softening to blue, violet, and eventually white as they reach the top. One of the architects noted the symbolism of the change in colors — purity comes with aspiring toward heavenly things. A similar progression from color to white and gold can be seen in the interior furnishings of the temple. Nearly six years after the temple was announced on November 15, 1968, the temple was ready to be dedicated. The temple opened to the public from September 17 to October 19, 1974, and more than 750,000 visitors toured the building. High-profile visitors, including Betty Ford, Gerald Ford’s wife, were among those who viewed the temple interior. The temple was dedicated in 10 sessions held from November 19 to 22, 1974. Church President Spencer W. Kimball offered the dedicatory prayer, in which he gave thanks for those who paved the way for the founding of the United States: “We are grateful that thou didst cause this land to be rediscovered and settled by people who founded a great nation with an inspired constitution guaranteeing freedom in which there could come the glorious restoration of the gospel and the Church of thy Beloved Son.”2
Spires of the Washington D.C. Temple

On March 3, 2018, the Washington D.C. Temple closed for an extensive renovation. The building received considerable upgrades to its mechanical system and the finishes and furnishings were refreshed. There were also changes made to the landscaping and a small addition to the exterior to enclose a new elevator system and stairs.

The project was completed in 2020, and because of COVID-19, the open house was delayed until 2022.

Adjacent to the temple, the Washington D.C. Temple Visitors’ Center provides the opportunity for visitors to learn more about temples and the Church’s teachings. The Visitors’ Center has been closed during COVID but will open when the temple is rededicated after June 19, 2022.

1 In “To Build a Temple,” Ensign, Aug. 1974, 16.

2 “President Kimball Dedicates Temple,” Ensign, Feb. 1975, 81.

Fast Facts

Announced: November 15, 1968

Dedicated: November 19-22, 1974 by then-Church President
Spencer W. Kimball

Building Size: 160,000 square feet

Height: 288 feet (the tallest
Latter-day Saint temple in the world)

Property Size: 52 acres

Closed for Renovation:
March 3, 2018

Contractor: Okland Construction

Architect: CRSA

Reopening: June 19, 2022

Photo Credit: Scott Vantter

Address

Washington D.C. Temple The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
9900 Stoneybrook Drive
Kensington, Maryland